The answer is no. You do not need to register a kayak with the state of Michigan, but some rules apply to the watercraft. For example, suppose you own a canoe or rowboat and leave it unattended on public property for more than 24 hours. In that case, you may be asked by law enforcement officers to move it so they can perform an inspection of its safety features.
It is also unlawful for any person who owns or controls a boat powered by a gas engine or electric motor under 10 horsepower shall not operate such boat within 100 feet of the shoreline where the depth at mean high water exceeds 12 inches without first having obtained permission from the owner.
You must register your kayak if you want to install a trolling motor. And, yes, you must register your kayak in Michigan, according to state legislation. The registration is valid for three years and has an expiration date of March 31 in the third year of issuance. Although each state’s regulations and procedure for registering vary, they all have specific requirements.
In this post, you’ll discover how to register motorized kayaks in the United States of America’s Michigan.
WHAT TYPES OF WATERCRAFT ARE NOT REQUIRED TO BE REGISTERED IN MICHIGAN?
- Any boat 16 feet or less in length, without an oar or paddle and not intended for commercial or rental purposes;
- Boats, rafts, surfboards, and sailboards (regardless of length) are not motorized and aren’t utilized for hire or commercial purposes.
- A nonresident who purchases a watercraft registered in another state and uses it solely in Michigan
MICHIGAN KAYAK REGISTRATION PROCEDURE IS STRAIGHTFORWARD:
- Online Process You may renew your watercraft registration online with RapidSOS.
- You may also submit a change of address form online when renewing your license.
- You must update the owner’s name or information regarding the watercraft at a Secretary of State office.
- You may pay your bill by debit or credit card, as well.
- You may be charged a processing charge.
- The transaction is completed, and you’ll receive an email indicating that your renewal has been successfully processed. If you renew while signing in to your account, you can print your new registration at the end of the transaction.
- You should receive your watercraft decal and an extra copy of your registration in 14 business days.
- If you select the quick renewal option, your new registration will not be printed; instead, you will receive it by email.
TO ENROLL, SEND YOUR REQUEST BY MAIL.
On your check or money order, the renewal notice and payment should be sent to the following address: 7063 Crowner Drive, Lansing, MI 48918.
You can update your address on your renewal notice, but you’ll need to go to a Secretary of State’s Office to change your name or watercraft information. Then, within 14 business days, you will be sent the new registration and decal.
Bring your watercraft registration or the MC number to any Secretary of State office when renewing. Make sure to pay by cash, check, money order, or using a Discover, MasterCard, Visa debit, or credit card.
A credit card processing fee will be charged for each purchase made with a credit card; therefore, choose your payment method carefully. After completing the transaction, you’ll get a new registration and decal at the counter.
REGISTRATION COSTS FOR MICHIGAN KAYAKS
The following are the penalties for missing vehicle registration deadlines:
If you renew after the expiration date, a $10 fee will be imposed, no matter what month it arrives.
- The cost of transferring your current boating license to another state is $10.
- Title Fees for Automobiles and Trailers. $15
- A nonmotorized sailing boat is $9 per year, with a three-year renewal charge of $9.
- Canoes and kayaks used commercially are often more costly than those intended for personal use, with an original price of $5 and a three-year renewal charge.
- The base fee for Motorboats is 12 feet or more, but less than 16 feet is $17. If you want to renew, there’s a three-year renewal fee of $17. The list goes on.
- Vessels 16 Feet or More but Less Than 21 Feet in Length will be Renewed for a Three-Year License at $42.
- The price of a 22-foot or longer motorboat less than 28 feet in length is $115.
- 28-foot-or-longer outboard motors but less than 35 feet $168
- $15 (original fee and 3-year renewal fees) – The boat’s commercial fishing vessel license
In Michigan, is it legal to register a motorized kayak or canoe?
- Unless exempt, all watercraft in the state of Michigan must display a registration decal from the Department of State.
- The registration number is not transferable because it has been assigned to you.
- All registrations will expire on March 31 the third year after issuance.
- Other watercraft, including those longer than 16 feet but propelled by oars or paddles and utilized solely for personal enjoyment, are not required to be registered. Nonmotorized canoes and kayaks are expressly prohibited in Michigan. Any floatable raft, surfboard, sailboard, or swim float that is greater than 16 feet long
- According to their duration, registrants are charged.
THE APPLICATION FOR A MICHIGAN WATERCRAFT REGISTRATION IS AVAILABLE ONLINE.
Michigan has several lakes and rivers that are ideal for watercraft registration. They also have a well-established procedure for registering your boat, simple to follow and complete.
If you’re looking for a method to register your boat, all you have to do is fill out the form below.
Download This (Print and submit the document to the Michigan Department of State.)
MICHIGAN WATERCRAFT REGISTRATION LOOKUP SYSTEM
It is unlawful because Michigan does not yet have a watercraft registration lookup system. Although there is no law prohibiting them from doing so, state officials are still attempting to figure out the best approach for this database, which will take years to complete since they’ll need to come up with a way to keep up with all of the new watercraft models that will be introduced.
Nonetheless, you may email them and have your registration information looked up. Click this link and send them an email.
The Department of Natural Resources (DNR) has no such database, even though Michigan has over 1.5 million registered boats. If a database like this isn’t created, revenue will be lost, and fines and infractions may be levied against those who do not register their boats within 30 days after purchasing them.
Of course, this isn’t to say that individuals have been sailing on Lake Michigan without registering their boat. But because it’s such a pain and time-consuming procedure, even if you are aware of the law, most people won’t use it to get around while appreciating the natural beauty of our excellent state.
The state was compelled to do so due to an increase in boat registration requests and a lack of personnel.
What is the law on canoe and kayak registration in Michigan?
If you’re looking to paddle the waters of Michigan in a canoe or kayak, you may be wondering if you need to register your vessel with the state. The answer is: it depends. If you’re paddling on a river, stream, or creek considered “public waters,” you don’t need to register your canoe or kayak.
However, if you’re paddling on a lake, pond, or other water body considered “private waters,” you will need to register your vessel with the Michigan Department of Natural Resources (DNR).
DO YOU NEED TO REGISTER A BOAT WITH A TROLLING MOTOR IN MICHIGAN?
According to the state boat registration legislation in Minnesota, you must register your boat with a trolling motor. These rules were established to ensure that boats are not rented without the owner’s knowledge.
If your boat doesn’t have a trolling engine, you don’t need to register it, but it’s still a good idea to learn the regulations just in case you get caught.
DO YOU NEED TO REGISTER A BOAT WITH A TROLLING MOTOR IN MICHIGAN?
Yes. Your boat must be registered to use water if it does not include a trolling motor. Before your boat is operated on Michigan waters, you must register it with the state of Michigan. Michigan uses this registration process to identify boats that may be utilized for fishing and pleasure boating.
DO YOU NEED A LICENSE FOR A KAYAK IN MICHIGAN?
In Michigan, to legally use a kayak on the water, you must be a licensed boater. The rule is that anyone in Michigan who operates any boat with an engine must have a license. Those who are permitted by law to do so without obtaining a permit are the only ones exempt from the regulation.
According to the US Coast Guard, you must be at least 16 years old and possess a valid driver’s license to operate any motorized boat with more than 12 horsepower (HP), unless otherwise authorized by law.
WHAT DO YOU NEED TO KAYAK IN MICHIGAN?
Michigan is a boaters’ paradise, with over 5,000 miles of shoreline. However, if you’re new to the activity or want to cruise on the lake, you’ll need some gear.
There are a lot of outdoor shops in the region, so you’ll have no trouble finding everything you need. Here are some things to stock up on:
1) A kayak paddle (or two)
2) A boat anchor and rode
3) A life preserver
CAN YOU KAYAK ANYWHERE IN MICHIGAN?
Yes, they can. Thousands of miles of rivers, lakes, and streams exist in Michigan. They’re all excellent kayaking possibilities. There is a lot of water in Michigan. There are many locations to paddle in the state, from lakes and bays to rivers and marshes.
CAN YOU GET A DUI ON A KAYAK IN MICHIGAN?
The short answer is that Michigan has its regulations, which have nothing to do with the federal government’s rules. So even if a kayak were used on land, it would still be considered a boat and not subject to state laws.
Do you have to register a canoe in Michigan?
The law on canoe registration in Michigan is the same as the law on kayak registration: if you’re paddling in public waters, you don’t need to register your vessel, but if you’re paddling in private waters, you will need to register your canoe with the DNR.
So, if you’re planning on doing some lake paddling in Michigan, register your canoe (or kayak) with the DNR before heading out on the water.
Do kayaks need to be registered?
As mentioned above, the law on kayak registration in Michigan is the same as the law on canoe registration: if you’re paddling in public waters, you don’t need to register your vessel, but if you’re paddling in private waters, you will need to register your kayak with the DNR.
Do canoes need to be registered in Michigan?
Michigan’s law on canoe registration is the same as the law on kayak registration.
What are Mi kayak laws?
Michigan kayak laws state that if you’re paddling in public waters, you don’t need to register your vessel, but if you’re paddling in private waters, you will need to register your kayak with the DNR.
Can you get a DUI on a kayak in Michigan?
Although it may be tempting to enjoy a few drinks while out on the water in your kayak, it’s important to remember that you can still be arrested and charged with driving under the influence (DUI) if caught operating a vessel while impaired.
So, if you’re planning on drinking while kayaking in Michigan, designate a sober driver to get you and your kayak back to shore safely.
Do you have to wear a life jacket on a kayak in Michigan?
There is no law in Michigan that requires you to wear a life jacket while kayaking, but it is always recommended. Wearing a life jacket can help you stay safe and afloat if you capsize or fall out of your kayak, and it could even save your life.
How much is a ticket for no life jacket in Michigan?
No specific law in Michigan requires you to wear a life jacket while kayaking, so there is no set fine for not wearing one.
However, suppose you are stopped by a law enforcement officer and found operating a vessel without a life jacket. In that case, you could be issued a citation for violating the state’s boating safety laws.
Can you drink on a kayak in Michigan?
Although no law prohibits explicitly drinking on a kayak in Michigan, it is not recommended.
Operating a vessel while impaired by alcohol is against the law in Michigan. You can be arrested and charged with driving under the influence (DUI) if caught operating a kayak while drunk.
Conclusion: Do you have to register a kayak in Michigan?
Within 30 days of purchase, you must register a motorized kayak in all states listed below. There are penalties and interests involved, which differ from one state to another if you do not comply.
You will be required to follow all laws applicable to watercraft usage on public waterways after applying for registration. The procedure is simple, and doing it on time may save you a lot of trouble with the law.